International journal
ISSN 2311-0759 (Online)
ISSN 2311-0740 (Print)


Переводы

Barthes and Lotman: Ideology vs culture

Despite both being great names in semiotics, Roland Barthes and Juri Lotman have more differences than they share similarities – not only because of their different political and historico-cultural environments, but also because they do not have the same object of study: it is ‘ideology’ for Barthes, and ‘culture’ for Lotman. Thus, there is no intellectual common ground between them, yet comparing them can lead us to a more important question: what is semiotics, and what has structuralism to do with it.

Voloshinov and Vossler: Allies without knowing it

Between both solutions to the crisis of positivism at the beginning of the 20th century, V. N. Voloshinov chose K. Vossler’s idealistic neophilology, entirely rejecting Saussurianism. Voloshinov transposed Vossler’s stylistic individual idealism into sociological concepts: “spirit” becomes “ideology”, “culture” becomes “superstructure”, and “idealistic neophilology” becomes “sociological poetics”. This terminological rearrangement has caused constant misunderstandings in the interpretation of the book “Marxism and the Philosophy of Language”.

Verbal aggression vs. political correctness

The theory of performative speech acts has had important consequences for several academic fields: philosophy and linguistics (naturally), as well as literary theory, anthropology, and education. In recent years, it has been incorporated into the discourse of the law, by both legal scholars and sociolinguists. But nowhere does speech act theory have such concrete and far-reaching consequences as in the definitions of hate speech and its legal status.

Abduction and identity in family interaction: ventriloquizing as indirectness

With a view toward developing a more inclusive understanding of indirectness in interaction, author returns to Bateson's notion of abduction (a mental process by which meaning is created by analogy) and three related theoretical frameworks: Friedrich's polytropy, Becker's prior text, and Bakhtin's dialogicality – all theories of intertextuality.

Is “species” a “type”? in the thicket of polish and german genologies

The aim of this article is to outline the terminological differences and dissimilarities in studies on texts, as well as present problems in the classification of texts or, more specifically, difficulties in their descriptions in German and Polish philological reflection and in finding common points in defining particular phenomena and terms. This is an attempt at systematization in order to avoid terminological discrepancies and the misunderstanding of terms.

National style as a stylistic category

The term and the category of national style was introduced in the period of pre-romanticism in Germany (Winckelmann, Herder, Goethe) in response to radical social and cultural transformations. At that time in Eu-rope, the modern understanding of the nation was being formed, with national societies being constituted and national identities dominating over other forms of collective identity.

Genology of usual texts

The aim of the article is to characterize the basic assumptions and developments of current research within linguistic genology of usual texts. It's about phrases for specific practical purposes. Their genological presentation covers the most important concepts in the subdiscipline, which can also be referred to as linguistic genology. The article is a discussion about the Polish research on genres of phrases, including the foundations for this theory made by Bakhtin.

“We’ve never been close, we’re very different”: three narrative types in sister discourse

Drawing on interviews I conducted with women about their sisters, I identify three narrative types: small-n narratives, big-N Narratives and Master Narratives. Small-n narratives are accounts of specific events or interactions that speakers said had occurred with their sisters. Big-N Narratives are the themes speakers developed in telling me about their sisters, and in support of which they told the small-n narratives. Master Narratives are culture-wide ideologies shaping the big-N Narratives.

APPLIED ETHNOLINGUISTICS is cultural linguistics, but is it CULTURAL LINGUISTICS?

Recent years have witnessed a steady increase in occurrences of the label cultural linguistics, used to refer either to a broad field of scientific endeavor – which I suggest to call cultural linguistics (in lowercase) – or to a more narrowly defined framework within that field – which I suggest to call CULTURAL LINGUISTICS (in small capitals). The latter saw the light of day in 1996 but has become better known since Farzad Sharifian provided it with its current interdisciplinary base, replacing Gary Palmer’s term imagery with a more fitting alternative.

Web Pages, Text Types, and Linguistic Features: Some Issues

  From a textual point of view, the web is a huge reservoir of documents. On the web virtually everything can be seen as a ‘document’ or better a ‘web page’. The sheer amount of texts available is just overwhelming. Furthermore, the web is mainly wild and uncontrolled. This becomes clear if we compare a ‘tamed’ resource of the paper world, like the British National Library, and the ‘untamed’ English Web. In: this empirical study, I investigated text typologies in a random sample of raw web pages, and not in a corpus of pre-selected and pre-processed documents.

Pages

Международный научный журнал
ISSN 2311-0759 (Online)
ISSN 2311-0740 (Print)


Переводы

Вербальная агрессия vs. политкорректность

Перформативная теория речевых актов имела важные последствия для нескольких научных областей: философии и лингвистики (естественно), а также теории литературы, антропологии и образования. В последние годы теория речевых актов была включена в американский политический дискурс как усилиями юристов, так и ученых-социолингвистов. Но нигде в теории речевых актов нет таких конкретных и далеко идущих последствий, как в определениях «языка ненависти» и его правовом статусе.

Отведение и идентичность в семейной интеракции: чревовещание как косвенность

С целью достижения более широкого понимания косвенности во взаимодействии автор возвращается к понятию отведения Бейтсона (психический процесс, при котором значение создается по аналогии) и трем соответствующим теоретическим концепциям: политропии Фридриха, языковой деятельности Беккера и диалогичности Бахтина – все они входят в общую теорию интертекстуальности.

Является ли «жанр» «типом»? (генологические джунгли в полонистике и германистике)

Цель статьи заключается в определении терминологических различий и различий в исследованиях по тексту, а также существующих проблем в классификации текстов, или, точнее, трудности в их описании в рамках немецкой и польской филологической рефлексии и в поиске общих решений в определении конкретных языковых явлений и терминов. Это попытка систематизации, имеющая целью избежать терминологических расхождений. В статье также обсуждаются различные методы исследований в рамках языковой генологии в контрастивном плане.

Национальный стиль как стилистическая категория

Термин и категория «национальный стиль» был введен в период предромантизма в Германии (Вин-кельман, Гердер, Гете) в ответ на радикальные соци-альные и культурные преобразования. В то время в Европе формировалось современное понимание нации, с образованием национальных сообществ и национальной идентичности, доминирующих над другими формами коллективной идентичности.

Генология обиходных текстов

Цель статьи – охарактеризовать основные положения и достижения одного из актуальных направлений лингвистических исследований – генологии обиходных текстов. Речь идет о высказываниях, служащих определенным практическим целям. Их генологическое представление охватывает наиболее важные понятия в субдисциплине, которую также можно определить как лингвистическую генологию. Статья представляет собой обсуждение польских исследований по типам высказываний, прежде всего, бахтинских основ названного направления исследований.

«Мы никогда не были близки, мы очень разные»: три типа нарратива в дискурсе сестер

На основе рассказов женщин о своих сестрах в проводимых мной интервью я выделяю три типа нарратива: нарративы с маленькой буквы «н» – так называемые н-нарративы, или нарративы, Нарративы с большой буквы «Н» – Н-нарративы, или Нарративы, и Супер-нарративы. Повествование об определенных событиях, которые, по словам рассказчиц, происходили с их сестрами, – это н-нарративы. Н-нарративы – это темы, на которые беседуют со мной женщины, рассказывая о своих сестрах, и для иллюстрации которых они используют н-нарративы.

ПРИКЛАДНАЯ ЭТНОЛИНГВИСТИКА – это лингвокультурология, но ЛИНГВОКУЛЬТУРОЛОГИЯ ли?

В последние годы использование термина лингвокультурология неуклонно растет. он служит либо для обозначения широкого научного направления, которое я предлагаю называть лингвокультурологией (строчными буквами), либо для обозначения более узкой области исследований в рамках данного направления, которую я предлагаю называть лингвокультурология (малыми прописными).

Веб-страницы, типы текстов и лингвистические характеристики: некоторые вопросы

  С текстологической точки зрения веб - место, в котором сосредоточено огромное количество документов. В вебе практически всё может быть рассмотрено как «документ» или, что является более подходящим термином, как «веб-страница». То количество текстов, которое представлено в вебе, превышает все мыслимые пределы. Более того, веб дик и неконтролируем. Это становится ясным, если мы сравним «приручённый» источник мира бумажных текстов, такой как Британская Национальная Библиотека, и «неукрощённый» английский веб.

Генология как когнитивное пространство

Автор характеризует прежде всего когнитивную ситуацию в польской генологии, указывая на разброс генологических исследований по дисциплинарным областям и появление литературной, лингвистической и журналистской (медиа) генологии, а также множество предложений, выдвигаемых отдельными исследователями. Вторая часть статьи представляет собой попытку развить авторскую концепцию генологии как открытого когнитивного пространства, разработанного в форме стиля мышления, рассматриваемого как набор коллекций стиля.